Day 9 – Describes your life better than you could


This is what I like most about lyrics, their ability to articulate what I’m thinking. Crazy metaphors for reality that I could never think up myself and yet feel so apt.

TV On The Radio – Ambulance

On top of being one of the most beautiful a capella songs ever (the video I’ve posted doesn’t quite do it justice, but the beatboxing is certainly an interesting alteration to the original), Ambulance has the kind of lyrics that seems like an intro course to psychoanalysis, setting up the protagonist as in desperate need of saving, with one last chance for survival. Heartache in a nutshell.

About Alex Pavitt
I work in the field of emotion. My tools are instinctual feelings and my laptop is the medium between my brain and the outside world. I deconstruct and rebuild. I imagine. I steal other people's lyrics because somtimes, my own words aren't enough. I spend all of my time somewhere inside my head. I worship Douglas Adams, and in the back of my mind I am always painfully aware that I will never be as good as him or, for that matter, anybody else.

One Response to Day 9 – Describes your life better than you could

  1. amanda says:

    totally agree!

Leave a Reply

