Day 3 – Saddest you’ve ever heard


This song has to achieve the ultimate in melancholy to earn its position here. It can’t just be a few minor chords thrown together, there must be a poetic sadness in the lyrics, a depressive mood that cannot be defined but is nonetheless existent, and a voice that stretches the meaning of bleak to its very limits. Yesterday was all well and good, but there’s a reason why I call this blog SAD Songs. This is the kind of fare I revel in more than anything.

Hope Of The States – Me Ves Y Sufres

I think the main thing here is the lyrics, though the piano makes a gloriously despondent case also. Never have I heard such depths of self-loating, rarely has anyone so poetically ripped apart their own personality for the listener’s benefit. I think the best course of action is just leave you with a video of the song (sadly not live), the lyrics, and a warning to put away any knives or other dangerous objects before venturing any further.

I’ve got no good in me for anybody
I’ve been ruined by the lies I told to everybody
It’s so desperately sad that my life has come to this
I hope there’s something better than this for me

I used to think I had something to say
But my dumb ideologies gave me away
I keep my mouth shut, but it’s always the same
Over and over and over again

Today I am wrong again, but it’s not surprising
Once more heaven has forgotten me so everybody
Clap your hands together for me, as I watch my world collapse
Don’t waste your sympathy on me, cause I made it all

I used to think I had something to say
But my dumb ideologies gave me away
I keep my mouth shut, but it’s always the same
Over and over and over again

My mistakes happen so much it’s success
But I’ll drag you all down into my sorry mess
I said I was sorry, but it’s always the same
Over and over and over again

I have been doomed from the first time I tried
To find something to save me from all of my lies
I’m always fake, and it’s always the same
Over and over and over and over again

About Alex Pavitt
I work in the field of emotion. My tools are instinctual feelings and my laptop is the medium between my brain and the outside world. I deconstruct and rebuild. I imagine. I steal other people's lyrics because somtimes, my own words aren't enough. I spend all of my time somewhere inside my head. I worship Douglas Adams, and in the back of my mind I am always painfully aware that I will never be as good as him or, for that matter, anybody else.

Leave a Reply

