Day 2 – The happiest you’ve ever heard


In essence, this song should be th one that is guaranteed above all others to cheer me up, no matter what my mood is, during the time between this song starting and finishing I must be at my absolute happiest. And when I’m listening to this song, I really am.

Gorillaz – 19-2000

The happiest song I’ve ever heard only reaches its full potential off Happy when accompanied by the anarchic cartoon video, which single-handedly rejects any notion that an animated band can never be successful. The non-sensical lyrics are delivered by Damon Albarn with childlike glee, the danceable keyboards float around Carribean beats, the embodiment of a “Life’s A Beach” philosophy. You can almost hear the waves lapping on the shore.

In my opinion, Gorillaz still haven’t topped this. The constantly revolving door of celebrity cameos has left the old days of simple addictive tracks such as 19-2000 behind and that’s a real shame. Plastic Beach is decent but forgettable, whereas this is a song of pure catchy fun, like a lightning smile a bottle, that Damon Albarn has yet to recapture since.

About Alex Pavitt
I work in the field of emotion. My tools are instinctual feelings and my laptop is the medium between my brain and the outside world. I deconstruct and rebuild. I imagine. I steal other people's lyrics because somtimes, my own words aren't enough. I spend all of my time somewhere inside my head. I worship Douglas Adams, and in the back of my mind I am always painfully aware that I will never be as good as him or, for that matter, anybody else.

One Response to Day 2 – The happiest you’ve ever heard

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Day 2 – The happiest you’ve ever heard « Sad Songs For Immature Lovers -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

