Day 1 – The best you’ve ever heard


“Best” is probably a difficult term to define, especially when applied to something so subjective as music, but if I were asked to name a single song which I think is perfect, or at least less imperfect than any other song, it would be this one.

Pink Floyd – Wish You Were Here

It’s a song about togetherness and love. It’s a song about overcoming pain, and having to overcome it alone, and knowing that if one special person was there with you, you would be infinitely happier. It’s a song about Syd Barrett, but there are Syd Barretts in all of our lives, and sometimes we fail to appreciate them until they’re gone.

Most people who have not listened to Pink Floyd assume them to be pretentious soloists who have spent their entire musical career residing within their own backsides. Most would be surprised to hear such a delicately crafted acoustic ballad, based around a fairly simple chord progression. Its beauty lies in its simplicity, especially when listened to on the album of the same name, following as it does the angry rock of Have A Cigar.

I think this song does everything I want a song to do, from the introductory radio crackle to the simple acoustic guitars to the drum build to the exceptional heatrfelt lyrics. Not necessarily my most listened to song ever, but it is certainly my favourite.

About Alex Pavitt
I work in the field of emotion. My tools are instinctual feelings and my laptop is the medium between my brain and the outside world. I deconstruct and rebuild. I imagine. I steal other people's lyrics because somtimes, my own words aren't enough. I spend all of my time somewhere inside my head. I worship Douglas Adams, and in the back of my mind I am always painfully aware that I will never be as good as him or, for that matter, anybody else.

One Response to Day 1 – The best you’ve ever heard

  1. Pingback: The Virtuoso Lover – teaching men how to be masterful lovers - All About spy gadgets, gadgets for men and other kinds of gadgets - High Tech Spy Gadgets

Leave a Reply

