The Wednesday Countdown: Anti-Valentine’s Day


As you have presumably noticed, the annual government-approved, socially-acceptable day to celebrate an invented emotion designed to provide a suitable excuse for the carnal desires of a supposedly advanced species occured on Sunday. And now, more than ever, the Anti-Valentine’s Day brigade is in full force to oppose this. Maybe in my younger years I would have jumped on this growing bandwagon, but right now it seems fruitless. For a start it smacks of jealousy, which I am not averse to, of course, but mostly it just seems to be another recepticle for the over-reaction of a group of people to anything that they deem as slightly wrong. God forbid your personal opinion is not properly represented in the angriest and least productive way possible!

Anyway, my point is, the best way to spend a proper Anti-Valentine’s Day is not to get in the way of your coupled friends, nor to join Facebook groups pronouncing your hatred of 14th February. Instead, the time should be spent wallowing in the best that the music world has to offer in anti-love, rejection, romanticized pain, etc. One song per artist, of course, these are my favourite sentimentality-deviod love tracks. Some of them aren’t even depressing!

Top 10 Anti-Love Songs:

10. Bright Eyes – Lua

9. Muse – Falling Away With You

8. Frightened Rabbit – My Backwards Walk

7. REM – The One I Love

6. Thom Yorke – Skip Divided

5. Blur – Beetlebum

4. Damien Rice – The Blower’s Daughter

3. The National – Available

2. Radiohead – Fake Plastic Trees

1. Bon Iver – Skinny Love

Disclaimer: All these choices are anti-love songs IN MY OPINION. You may consider these songs to be truly sentimental and beautiful, but I often take the completely wrong meaning from songs based on my own experiences, and I plan on continuing to do so for many years to come. So don’t try and stop me.

(This will be the last post I make for some time, I imagine. I am taking a hiatus from using this blog, partly because I am aware it comprises almost entirely of lists, partly because I wanted an opportunity to use the word “hiatus”. I promise I will at least try and write a review of the Mumford & Sons gig which I am seeing on 12th March, but it seems unlikely that I will be doing much on here between now and then. Maybe posting a video bin or two. I don’t want to give up completely on this blog but I have accepted that I’m starting to run on empty.)

About Alex Pavitt
I work in the field of emotion. My tools are instinctual feelings and my laptop is the medium between my brain and the outside world. I deconstruct and rebuild. I imagine. I steal other people's lyrics because somtimes, my own words aren't enough. I spend all of my time somewhere inside my head. I worship Douglas Adams, and in the back of my mind I am always painfully aware that I will never be as good as him or, for that matter, anybody else.

One Response to The Wednesday Countdown: Anti-Valentine’s Day

  1. Madge Hope says:

    I think most of Bon Iver’s songs are pretty sad, although my favorite is ‘Creature Fear’. One of the saddest songs I’ve heard is ‘Casimir Pulaski Day’ by Sufjan stevens. I also came across a guy on myspace called Barnaby Griffin who specializes in sad songs.

Leave a Reply

