The Wednesday Countdown: I Saw Animals, And They Saw Me


Musicians are well-known for talking in metaphors (I have already covered colours and countries in Wednesday Countdown form, notable examples of one thing representing another), and this week we turn to the animal world for inspiration. It isn’t difficult to see why writers would use the kingdom of beasts to draw a parallel to the human condition. In our culture there has always been certain archetypes that writers can allude to, the lion looking for lost courage, the primal wolf that was once a man, the bird longing to stretch its wings and fly away.

Rules for this particular countdown are as follows, only one song for each animal (otherwise “A Wolf at the Door”, “The Wolves” would have also made appearances), one song per artist (thus re-igniting the Pigs vs Dogs debate) and ten songs in total.

Top 10 Songs with an Animal in the title:

10. The National – Theory Of The Crows

9. Damien Rice – Elephant

8. Foo Fighters – Monkey Wrench

7. The Beatles – I Am The Walrus

6. Thom Yorke – Black Swan

5. REM – King Of Birds

4. Beach House – Zebra

3. Mumford & Sons – Little Lion Man

2. TV On The Radio – Wolf Like Me

1. Pink Floyd – Pigs (Three Different Ones)

~

Pigs > Dogs

(The title of this post is taken from Dead Clown Society’s “I Saw Animals”, whose miscellaneous projects can be found here)

About Alex Pavitt
I work in the field of emotion. My tools are instinctual feelings and my laptop is the medium between my brain and the outside world. I deconstruct and rebuild. I imagine. I steal other people's lyrics because somtimes, my own words aren't enough. I spend all of my time somewhere inside my head. I worship Douglas Adams, and in the back of my mind I am always painfully aware that I will never be as good as him or, for that matter, anybody else.

2 Responses to The Wednesday Countdown: I Saw Animals, And They Saw Me

  1. Pingback: Le Tigre work with Christina Aguilera, MEN schedule shows … | Christina Aguilera Celebrity Monitor

  2. Brett says:

    I’m going to throw in Worms-Yeasayer, Wildcat-Ratatat, Weird fishes/Arpeggi-Radiohead, Glasgow Mega-Snake-Mogwai, The Rabbit, The Bat, and The Reindeer-Dr. Dog

Leave a Reply

