The Wednesday Countdown: The English are waiting and I don’t know what to do


Annoyingly, by the time this is posted, it will be after 11pm, which according to the Laws of Time is Thursday. I may be a physicist, but I’m afraid even I can’t change the Laws of Time without reversing the polarity of the neutron flow. So let me assure you that although it may appear to be a Thursday Countdown it is, and always will be, a Wednesday Countdown.

Right, after last week’s Radiohead-fest I thought it would only be fair (for reasons of balance) to offer up a National-fest. By way of comparison, and such and such. I mean, I’m sure nearly everybody will claim that there is no comparing the two bands but still, my list is an awesome collection of tunes, and they are three albums down on Radiohead. So I dunno. Give them time. LP5 is just round the corner ‘n’ all.

So yes, here are my 20 favourite tracks by The National, complete with Last.FM links for persuing, and with an awesome live video of my favourite.

20. Theory Of The Crows (The National)
19. Slipping Husband (Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers)
18. Gospel (Boxer)
17. Lucky You (Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers)
16. 90 Mile Water Wall (Sad Song For Dirty Lovers)
15. Fake Empire (Boxer)
14. Available (Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers)
13. Mr. November (Alligator)
12. Mistaken For Strangers (Boxer)
11. Karen (Alligator)
10. Bitters & Absolut (The National)
9. Cherry Tree (Cherry Tree EP)
8. Abel (Alligator)
7. So Far Around The Bend (Dark Was The Night Compilation)
6. Secret Meeting (Alligator)
5. Murder Me Rachael (Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers)
4. Apartment Story (Boxer)
3. Friend Of Mine (Alligator)
2. All The Wine (Aligator)
1. Brainy (Boxer)

About Alex Pavitt
I work in the field of emotion. My tools are instinctual feelings and my laptop is the medium between my brain and the outside world. I deconstruct and rebuild. I imagine. I steal other people's lyrics because somtimes, my own words aren't enough. I spend all of my time somewhere inside my head. I worship Douglas Adams, and in the back of my mind I am always painfully aware that I will never be as good as him or, for that matter, anybody else.

Leave a Reply

