Albums I discovered (Mid Nov – Mid Dec)


I now realise that that is a terrible way to describe the process of selecting albums to be used on this post. Albums I discovered? Like I am some form of music archaeologist, unearthing new albums by digging up Burial sites (if anybody laughed at that joke, I’m even more disappointed in you than I am in myself).

So, new setup! I will now list all the albums that I first listened to during the last month (that I remember at least), and give personal ratings on each based on the minimal listening I have given. I will also select one of the albums and write a full-length review of it. I imagine mostly I’ll write it in the same post as the ratings. However, I shall not be doing that today, due to business. But be safe in the knowledge that a proper album review of one of the following albums will appear on this blog within the next few days. Unless I don’t write it. In which case it won’t.

of Montreal – Hissing Fauna, Are You The Destroyer? (8.5/10)

Yo La Tengo – Popular Songs (5.5/10)

Fanfarlo – Reservoir (8/10)

Yo La Tengo – I Am Not Afraid Of You And I Will Beat Your Ass (9/10)

The Most Serene Republic – …And The Ever Expanding Universe (6/10)

Beach House – Teen Dream (8/10)

Frightened Rabbit – Sing The Greys (6.5/10)

Seeing as the Beach House album isn’t out for another month or so, it may be pertinent of me to produce a review of that, to go alongside those of people who actually, y’know, know how to write. Either way, I think the point of this is to implore you to check out Yo La Tengo, Beach House, Of Montreal and Fanfarlo. Seems reasonable.

Also, you should check out the Last.FM links I’ve left with each album, as you may well receive samples of the music. Wouldn’t that be nice? Seeing as Teen Dream isn’t out yet there is no Last.FM page for it, instead you are linked to an early Stereogum review of it, which may prove informative and just an all-round lovely thing to read.

About Alex Pavitt
I work in the field of emotion. My tools are instinctual feelings and my laptop is the medium between my brain and the outside world. I deconstruct and rebuild. I imagine. I steal other people's lyrics because somtimes, my own words aren't enough. I spend all of my time somewhere inside my head. I worship Douglas Adams, and in the back of my mind I am always painfully aware that I will never be as good as him or, for that matter, anybody else.

Leave a Reply

