Portishead – Chase The Tear


Yes, I know, a second post in one day? This is madness! There is a reason, however, and it is not Sparta. It is a little proof on my part that sometimes, every now and again, I am on the cutting edge of what is Hip and Happening. In this case, I refer to a new Portishead track which they have recorded for the human rights organisation Amnesty International. The song will be available for download from tomorrow, but a video has become available which showcases the oddly-titled “Chase The Tear” in all its glory. Video below.

Wow. Holy… Did that just happen, you guys? It did. Well…

Not sure about you, but I was addicted on first listen. Beth Gibbons can do haunting, tortured vocals in her sleep (which may explain why nobody wants to stay a night at the Gibbons household), and of course it’s hugely impressive, but that is about par for the course for Portishead. It’s the beats that back it, the slowly entering horn stabs and that constantly racing drone, the keyboards barely change in terms of melody but it changes in texture and form as cries of “holding off tomorrow’s sorrow” eminent around loose clean guitar. That’s what makes this stand out so forcefully. This is “We Carry On” mixed with the Countdown theme. It almost feels like a race against the clock, towards an indeterminable finish line.

I had to share this with you. I just had to. We can assume, perhaps, that this track is considered not good enough for their fourth album, a reasonable assessment, and one that leaves me praying to the gods of Quantum that I happen to be in the parallel universe where this comes out in 2010. Magic is at work here. Enjoy it while it lasts.

About Alex Pavitt
I work in the field of emotion. My tools are instinctual feelings and my laptop is the medium between my brain and the outside world. I deconstruct and rebuild. I imagine. I steal other people's lyrics because somtimes, my own words aren't enough. I spend all of my time somewhere inside my head. I worship Douglas Adams, and in the back of my mind I am always painfully aware that I will never be as good as him or, for that matter, anybody else.

One Response to Portishead – Chase The Tear

  1. tom says:

    another genius abrupt ending from camp portishead,

    but no, this is a fucking great tune!

Leave a Reply

