The Wednesday Countdown: The Beat Goes Round And Round


The year is coming to an end, and what that means to the people that matter, is that the popular Radiohead fan forum, Mortigi Tempo, are about to run the 5th of their annual polls to find the top 100 Radiohead songs of all time. This weeks Wednesday Countdown is dedicated to “Test Tones” Sam, who has gone through the great struggle of compiling all the lists from users on the forum and turning them into neat tables and graphs, and who we all hope will repeat these exertions this year. Here are my top 20 Radiohead songs, in order, with absolutely no shocks involved for anybody who knows me. Feel free to post your anger below. Oh, and make a note that for the title I used a lyric from a song that isn’t even on my list. I’m crazy, me!

20. The Amazing Sounds Of Orgy (Amnesiac B-Side)
19. No Surprises (OK Computer)
18. Bodysnatchers (In Rainbows)
17. True Love Waits (I Might Be Wrong Live)
16. Just (The Bends)
15. A Wolf At The Door (Hail To The Thief)
14. 2 + 2 = 5 (Hail To The Thief)
13. You And Whose Army? (Amnesiac)
12. Bangers & Mash (In Rainbows Disc 2)
11. Fake Plastic Trees (The Bends)
10. 15 Step (In Rainbows)
9. Weird Fishes/Arpeggi (In Rainbows)
8. Cuttooth (Amnesiac B-Side)
7. Airbag (OK Computer)
6. Idioteque (Kid A)
5. The National Anthem (Kid A)
4. Paranoid Android (OK Computer)
3. How To Disappear Completely (Kid A)
2. There There (Hail To The Thief)
1. Subterranean Homesick Alien (OK Computer)

This is the 42nd post I have made to this blog, interestingly. OK, it wasn’t that interesting. Anyway, leave angry comments below, and take a little time, if you will, to ponder the fact that there are more Amnesiac B-Sides on this list than actual Amnesiac tracks.

About Alex Pavitt
I work in the field of emotion. My tools are instinctual feelings and my laptop is the medium between my brain and the outside world. I deconstruct and rebuild. I imagine. I steal other people's lyrics because somtimes, my own words aren't enough. I spend all of my time somewhere inside my head. I worship Douglas Adams, and in the back of my mind I am always painfully aware that I will never be as good as him or, for that matter, anybody else.

8 Responses to The Wednesday Countdown: The Beat Goes Round And Round

  1. dafs says:

    I find your lack of Pyramid Song, Myxamatosis, and Where I End and You Begin disturbing.

    • Alex Pavitt says:

      All good songs, of course. But top 20 material? No.
      And I really hate to repeat myself, but I can’t make myself like Myxmatosis as much as I love Cuttooth.

  2. bluekatrock says:

    NO RECKONER?!

    • Alex Pavitt says:

      *waits for tom to comment exactly the same thing*

      Nah, I don’t think it’s all that. The intro is nice, especially leading from Faust Arp, and the breakdown has awesome Yorke vocals. It’s good but… it’s not exactly SPECIAL, if you get what I mean.

  3. tom says:

    yeah, reckoner should probably be on there.

    but a better question is, where is dollars and cents?

    or pop is dead for that matter.

    • Alex Pavitt says:

      Oh no!
      Pop is Dead!

  4. thefaldkazkid says:

    B-sides > A-sides.

    Fact of life.

    • Alex Pavitt says:

      Cuttooth > A-Sides
      More accurate fact of life.

Leave a Reply

