The Video Bin


Time to add a few more YouTube videos to The Video Bin. Why? Because it’s Sunday and I need coffee and it’s my blog. Is that reason enough? Hope so. This time I may be so bold as to add captions to each video, rather than allowing the music to do all the talking. If the music could do all the talking I’d be out of a job. And by job I obviously mean hobby.

Things I have managed to conclude this morning:

  • Hissing Fauna, Are You The Destroyer is a good album.
  • I am fairly certain what my top 5 albums of 2009 are.
  • I need coffee to make sentences structure good
  • It doesn’t matter that I’ve been distracted by blogs, emails and of Montreal, I am still going to get this bloody lab report done today

Videos:

By popular demand, here is Mumford & Sons performing Little Lion Man from their Bookshop Acoustic Session. Check out the other songs they did in this session, The Cave is also really good. I was almost tempted to post the Taio Cruz cover of this song, but then I realised I didn’t want to make your ears bleed and your soul vomit.

~~~

I have had a tiny bit of a Neutral Milk Hotel week, and I have also had a tiny bit of a Fanfarlo week, so to find one covering the other is nice. I like the off-the-cuff feel of this video, and though the vocals of course don’t match up to Jeff Magnum, I think that Fanfarlo do the song justice, and give a little extra credence to my remarks a few weeks ago that covers were damn necessary in music.

~~~

Animation in music videos is always cool, from “Paranoid Android” to the classic “Take On Me”, and it’s used very well in this Frightened Rabbit video. The fact it seems to run alongside a clever (if not particularly well portrayed) thought experiment on the nature of choice makes it appeal to me even more. And the song is awesome, all music geeks of a certain disposition will fall head over heels for the line “this is the last song I’ll write about you”.

~~~

Part 2 of this week’s Neutral Milk Hotel double-bill, and yet again it isn’t actually NMH giving the performance. Jeff Magnum gives a solo performance of Two-Headed Boy that does nothing to explain how such a technically unaccomplished singer can be so amazing live. This is one of those songs where you hang onto every word, because each one is so crisp, special and perfectly formed. It is a master class in how to be a singer that can’t sing.

~~~

No. Obviously this isn’t possible. There’s no way that two guys, one with an acoustic, can just stand there on a handheld camera with poor sound quality and create such a stunning performance. There’s some sort of witchcraft involved. I adore this song, and consider it one of Grizzly Bear’s best, but the effortlessness with which they carry off a little-known song on the back end of an EP is just crazy.

Look out for my top 15 albums of 2009, coming soon.

About Alex Pavitt
I work in the field of emotion. My tools are instinctual feelings and my laptop is the medium between my brain and the outside world. I deconstruct and rebuild. I imagine. I steal other people's lyrics because somtimes, my own words aren't enough. I spend all of my time somewhere inside my head. I worship Douglas Adams, and in the back of my mind I am always painfully aware that I will never be as good as him or, for that matter, anybody else.

4 Responses to The Video Bin

  1. Pingback: The Video Bin « Sad Songs For Immature Lovers Android Marketing

  2. thefaldkazkid says:

    You clearly underestimate the genius of Grizzly Bear, my boy.

  3. melissa says:

    MUMFORD AND SONS!
    and bookshop sessions

    I approve of this!

    damn taio cruz
    ‘i really messed it up this time’
    pfft

  4. Excuse me I believe there is three guys.
    Though it is still an amazing performance for what it is.

    Have you also seen the a’cappella ‘Knife’ on the streets of Paris for La Blogotheque?
    Awe-inspiring stuff. 🙂

Leave a Reply

