The Wednesday Countdown: Colourful Songs


I had quite the worries about this particular list, which contains the top 10 songs with a colour in the title. What criteria should I put upon it? Shall I reserve a maximum one place per colour, or let all colours have free reign? Over half of my short-list contained tracks with “black” in title (which I refuse to accept as a trend in my listening habits), but due to the finite amount of named colours, and more importantly the finite amount of named colours that sound good in a song title (“Maroon Haze”? “Mauve Haze”?), I eventually selected my top 10 songs that have either the word colour or a colour in the title without worrying about any further constraints.

In the end I was very strict with myself, removing all instances of songs with “blues” in their name, which is a shame, because the idea of a colour representing a mood is the only way I can get this particular topic to be in any way related to an overriding musical theme. Of course, colour is also useful for helping to visualise a purely audial medium.

Top 10 Songs of The Rainbow

1. Fleet Foxes – White Winter Hymnal

2. Grizzly Bear – Deep Blue Sea

3. Kings Of Leon – Black Thumbnail

4. Jimi Hendrix – Purple Haze

5. The White Stripes – Black Math

6. Mumford & Sons – White Blank Page

7. Wilco – Pot Kettle Black

8. Kid Harpoon – Colours

9. Thom Yorke – Black Swan

10. Hope Of The States – Black Dollar Bills

Fleet Foxes sure are masters of manipulating music to give a mood beyond sound. White Winter Hymnal glows with autumnal solemnity, evoking streaks of colour not just through the snowy title, but also through the gleefully disturbing line “turn the white snow red like strawberries in summertime”. Though this list contains a lot of black darkness the clash of red blood against winter snow is the most chilling visual imagery of all, and makes the top of my list.

About Alex Pavitt
I work in the field of emotion. My tools are instinctual feelings and my laptop is the medium between my brain and the outside world. I deconstruct and rebuild. I imagine. I steal other people's lyrics because somtimes, my own words aren't enough. I spend all of my time somewhere inside my head. I worship Douglas Adams, and in the back of my mind I am always painfully aware that I will never be as good as him or, for that matter, anybody else.

One Response to The Wednesday Countdown: Colourful Songs

  1. melissa says:

    number 6?
    number 6?!

    i do not approve of this…

Leave a Reply

