Top 42 Albums Of The Decade (5 – 1)


~

5.

Radiohead – Hail To The Thief

Radiohead - Hail To The Thief

Length: 56 minutes

Key Tracks: There There, A Wolf At The Door, Backdrifts

Lyrical Quality: 4.6 / 5

Melodic Quality: 4.7 / 5

Track Quality: 4.9 / 5

Album Quality: 4.2 / 5

Total: 18.4 / 20

Recommended Albums:

Muse – Origin Of Symmetry

Elbow – Asleep In The Back

~

4.

Arcade Fire – Funeral

Arcade Fire - Funeral

Length: 47 minutes

Key Tracks: Tunnels, Wake Up, Rebellion/Lies

Lyrical Quality: 4.7 / 5

Melodic Quality: 4.8 / 5

Track Quality: 4.6 / 5

Album Quality: 4.6 / 5

Total: 18.7 / 20

Recommended Albums:

The Decemberists – The Crane Wife

Andrew Bird – Noble Beast

~

3.

The National – Alligator

The National - Alligator

Length: 47 minutes

Key Tracks: All The Wine, Friend Of Mine, Mr November

Lyrical Quality: 4.9 / 5

Melodic Quality: 4.5 / 5

Track Quality: 4.9 / 5

Album Quality: 4.7 / 5

Total: 19.0 / 20

Recommended Albums:

Frightened Rabbit – The Midnight Organ Fight

Various Artists – Dark Was The Night

~

2.

Radiohead – Kid A

Radiohead - Kid A

Length: 49 minutes

Key Tracks – How To Disappear Completely, The National Anthem, Idioteque

Lyrical Quality: 4.8 / 5

Melodic Quality: 4.9 / 5

Track Quality: 4.8 / 5

Album Quality: 4.9 / 5

Total: 19.4 / 20

Recommended Albums:

The Flaming Lips – The Soft Bulletin

Beck – Sea Change

~

1.

Portishead – Third

Portishead - Third

Length: 49 minutes

Key Tracks – Threads, Machine Gun, We Carry On, Hunter, Plastic

Lyrical Quality: 4.8 / 5

Melodic Quality: 4.9 / 5

Track Quality: 4.9 / 5

Album Quality: 5.0 / 5

Total: 19.6 / 20

Recommended Albums:

Massive Attack – Mezzanine

My Brightest Diamond – Bring Me The Workhorse

~

(Somewhere on the south coast a man has just spat out his coffee in disgust).

So there you have it, Third is my favourite album of the decade.

What is it about Third? Its the bleak mood, coupled with Gibbons’ harrowing voice. The way every track is essential, even Small. The way it doesn’t seem to matter that it just went from a light ukelele interlude to abrasive electronic drums. Threads. The darkness. The beautiful sound of despair. We Carry On, the official war song of the robot armies when The Revolution comes. The turn of phrase, words that sound so wounded, vocals that sound so naked.

One day I will write a proper review of this masterpiece, and I shall properly put forward all the ways that I love Third. It is Portishead’s finest achievement. And my most loved album released this decade.

About Alex Pavitt
I work in the field of emotion. My tools are instinctual feelings and my laptop is the medium between my brain and the outside world. I deconstruct and rebuild. I imagine. I steal other people's lyrics because somtimes, my own words aren't enough. I spend all of my time somewhere inside my head. I worship Douglas Adams, and in the back of my mind I am always painfully aware that I will never be as good as him or, for that matter, anybody else.

3 Responses to Top 42 Albums Of The Decade (5 – 1)

  1. Tom says:

    I am so glad that you have chosen third as your number one. not because i agree, admittedly i did spit something out in disgust. But it just goes past the obvious, it is clear that you have put thought into it.
    It shows that are not a shallow music listener (third is lo-fi as fuck, as opposed to other glossy production albums on your list), but it also shows that you are not as stuck into this indie rutt as i thought you was.

    now we just have to fish you out completely.

    • Alex Pavitt says:

      Third > Portishead

  2. Tom says:

    second > first > third

    admittedly, it is very close each way though.

Leave a Reply

