Top 42 Albums Of The Decade (10 – 6)


~

10.

Bon Iver – For Emma, Forever Ago

Bon Iver - For Emma Forever Ago

Length: 37 minutes

Key Tracks: Skinny Love, Flume, Re: Stacks

Lyrical Quality: 4.5 / 5

Melodic Quality: 4.6 / 5

Track Quality: 4.1/ 5

Album Quality: 4.3 / 5

Total: 17.5 / 20

Recommended Albums:

Ryan Adams – Heartbreaker

Iron & Wine – Our Endless Numbered Days

~

9.

Wilco – Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

Wilco - Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

Length: 51 minutes

Key Tracks: Jesus Etc., I Am Trying To Break Your Heart, Radio Cure

Lyrical Quality: 4.5 / 5

Melodic Quality: 4.4 / 5

Track Quality: 4.2/ 5

Album Quality: 4.7 / 5

Total: 17.8 / 20

Recommended Albums:

My Morning Jacket – Evil Urges

Pavement – Slanted & Enchanted

~

8.

Bright Eyes – I’m Wide Awake, It’s Morning

Bright Eyes - Im Wide Awake Its Morning

Length: 45 minutes

Key Tracks: Lua, At The Bottom Of Everything, First Day Of My Life

Lyrical Quality: 4.6 / 5

Melodic Quality: 4.5 / 5

Track Quality: 4.4/ 5

Album Quality: 4.4 / 5

Total: 17.9 / 20

Recommended Albums:

Elliot Smith – Either/Or

Monsters Of Folk – Monsters Of Folk

~

7.

TV On The Radio – Desperate Youth, Bloodthirsty Babes

TV On The Radio - Desperate Youth Bloodthirsty Babe

 

Length: 47 minutes

Key Tracks: Ambulance, The Wrong Way, Dreams

Lyrical Quality: 4.6 / 5

Melodic Quality: 4.7 / 5

Track Quality: 4.6/ 5

Album Quality: 4.1 / 5

Total: 18.0 / 20

Recommended Albums:

Yo La Tengo – And Then Nothing Turned Itself Inside Out

Dirty Projectors – Rise Above

~

6.

The National – Boxer

Th National - Boxer

Length: 43 minutes

Key Tracks: Brainy, Apartment Story, Fake Empire

Lyrical Quality: 4.8 / 5

Melodic Quality: 4.4 / 5

Track Quality: 4.6/ 5

Album Quality: 4.4 / 5

Total: 18.2 / 20

Recommended Albums:

Okkervil River – Black Sheep Boy

Manic Street Preachers – This Is My Truth Tell Me Yours

~

Top 5 tomorrow, and after that I shall be forced to return to band profiles, condensed album reviews, music-based ranting and less comprehensive lists. Also, my “albums I recently discovered (Mid Oct – Mid Nov)” arrives next Saturday.

About Alex Pavitt
I work in the field of emotion. My tools are instinctual feelings and my laptop is the medium between my brain and the outside world. I deconstruct and rebuild. I imagine. I steal other people's lyrics because somtimes, my own words aren't enough. I spend all of my time somewhere inside my head. I worship Douglas Adams, and in the back of my mind I am always painfully aware that I will never be as good as him or, for that matter, anybody else.

7 Responses to Top 42 Albums Of The Decade (10 – 6)

  1. Tom says:

    i’m wide awake over for emma,

    now i can’t sit still at that. is this list designed just to piss me off?

    lol.

    • Alex Pavitt says:

      You already told me that one. And I stand by it. Im Wide Awake simply has more good stuff on it. If there were another one or two really top quality tracks on For Emma it would probably be highter. But it just feels too slight as it is. And its a shame

  2. Tom says:

    you are not a fan of subtle, small and understated albums, i have noticed.

    you like some bang for your buck.

    • Alex Pavitt says:

      Not a fan?! I did put it at number 10!
      What you mean is I prefer more bang for my buck.
      I mean, if there were albums, similar quality, similar amount of buck, and one had more bang, of course I’d go for the one with the extra bang! It’d be foolish not to.

  3. Tom says:

    wait, wait. hold on here.

    which songs on for emma, are not top quality?

    there is only eight, and there is only eight for a reason, because they are all damn good.

    • Alex Pavitt says:

      Well, I’m gonna go with Creature Fear. And probably For Emma… as well. They are fine in terms of the album but not essential, and not top quality.
      In fact I’d say it’s that period on the album (tracks 6-8) that let it down. Compared to the other tracks anyway.

  4. Tom says:

    Gasp,
    creature fear is such a tune. as is for emma.

    you are a man of strange opinions.

Leave a Reply

