Top 42 Albums Of The Decade (15 – 11)


~

15.

Radiohead – In Rainbows (2007)

Radiohead - In Rainbows

Length: 42 minutes

Key Tracks: Weird Fishes/Arpeggi, 15 Step, Jigsaw Falling Into Place

Lyrical Quality: 4.2 / 5

Melodic Quality: 4.1 / 5

Track Quality: 3.8/ 5

Album Quality: 4.2 / 5

Total: 16.3 / 20

Recommended Albums:

Beck – Guero

REM – Document

~

14.

Muse – Absolution

Muse - Absolution

Length: 52 minutes

Key Tracks: Falling Away With You, Time Is Running Out, Thoughts Of A Dying Atheist

Lyrical Quality: 4.0 / 5

Melodic Quality: 4.1 / 5

Track Quality: 4.4/ 5

Album Quality: 4.0 / 5

Total: 16.5 / 20

Recommended Albums:

Hope Of The States – The Lost Riots

Placebo – Meds

~

13.

Modest Mouse – The Moon And Antarctica

Modest Mouse - The Moon And Antarctica

Length: 60 minutes

Key Tracks: 3rd Planet, I Came As A Rat, Dark Centre Of The Universe

Lyrical Quality: 3.9 / 5

Melodic Quality: 4.3 / 5

Track Quality: 4.2/ 5

Album Quality: 4.2 / 5

Total: 16.6 / 20

Recommended Albums:

Neutral Milk Hotel – On Avery Island

The Flaming Lips – Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots

~

12.

Laura Marling – Alas, I Cannot Swim

Laura Marling - Alas I Cannot Swim

Length: 38 minutes

Key Tracks: My Manic & I, Failure, Night Terror

Lyrical Quality: 4.4 / 5

Melodic Quality: 4.2 / 5

Track Quality: 4.1 / 5

Album Quality: 4.3 / 5

Total: 17.0 / 20

Recommended Albums:

Lisa Hannigan – Sea Sew

Kid Harpoon – The Second EP

~

11.

The National – Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers

The National - Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers

Length: 44 minutes

Key Tracks: Murder Me Rachael, Available, Slipping Husband

Lyrical Quality: 4.5 / 5

Melodic Quality: 4.1 / 5

Track Quality: 4.6 / 5

Album Quality: 4.0 / 5

Total: 17.2 / 20

Recommended Albums:

Interpol – Turn On The Bright Lights

Editors – The Back Room

About Alex Pavitt
I work in the field of emotion. My tools are instinctual feelings and my laptop is the medium between my brain and the outside world. I deconstruct and rebuild. I imagine. I steal other people's lyrics because somtimes, my own words aren't enough. I spend all of my time somewhere inside my head. I worship Douglas Adams, and in the back of my mind I am always painfully aware that I will never be as good as him or, for that matter, anybody else.

3 Responses to Top 42 Albums Of The Decade (15 – 11)

  1. thefaldkazkid says:

    If Origin of Symmetry isn’t in your top 10 I will be disappointed.

    Also; I did not expect this Absolution > In Rainbows. I am shock-ed.

    • Alex Pavitt says:

      *Refers you back to my top 42 albums of the decade (42 – 26) list*
      39. Muse – Origin Of Symmetry
      Citizen Erased is an awesome track, but it doesn’t make up for the general mediocrity (in comparison to the albums above it on the list) of a lot of the other songs on it.
      And yeah, In Rainbows has a few realy good songs, but considering its a 10 track album theres at least three that are a bit meh, and thats way to high a ratio of meh

      • thefaldkazkid says:

        OH MY GOD, THAT WAS SO LONG AGO. I do not remember things.

        “high a ratio of meh”
        This phrase is made of win.

Leave a Reply

