Top 42 Albums Of The Decade (20 – 16)


~

20.

The White Stripes – Elephant

The White Stripes - Elephant

Length: 49 minutes

Key Tracks: I Just Don’t Know What To Do With Myself, Black Math, Ball & Biscuit

Lyrical Quality: 3.2 / 5

Melodic Quality: 3.8 / 5

Track Quality: 4.2 / 5

Album Quality: 3.7 / 5

Total: 14.9 / 20

Recommended Albums:

The Strokes – Room On Fire

Kings Of Leon – Because Of The Times

~

19.

My Morning Jacket – Z

My Morning Jacket - Z

Length: 45 minutes

Key Tracks: What A Wonderful Man, Off The Records, Dondante

Lyrical Quality: 3.2 / 5

Melodic Quality: 3.8 / 5

Track Quality: 3.9 / 5

Album Quality: 4.2 / 5

Total: 15.1 / 20

Recommended Albums:

Wilco – Wilco (The Album)

Band Of Horses – Everything All The Time

~

18.

Islands – Return To The Sea

Islands - Return To The Sea

Length: 55 minutes

Key Tracks: Humans, Jogging Gorgeous Summer, Don’t Call Me Whitney Bobby

Lyrical Quality: 3.6 / 5

Melodic Quality: 3.8 / 5

Track Quality: 4.1 / 5

Album Quality: 4.1 / 5

Total: 15.6 / 20

Recommended Albums:

The Unicorns – Who Will Cut Our Hair When We’re Gone?

Frog Eyes – Tales Of The Valedictorian

~

17.

Grizzly Bear – Veckatimest

Grizzly Bear - Veckatimest

Length: 52 minutes

Key Tracks: Southern Point, While You Wait For The Others, Two Weeks

Lyrical Quality: 3.4 / 5

Melodic Quality: 4.3 / 5

Track Quality: 3.9 / 5

Album Quality: 4.4 / 5

Total: 16.0 / 20

Recommended Albums:

Panda Bear – Person Pitch

Akron/Family – Akron/Family

~

16.

LCD Soundsystem – Sound Of Silver

LCD Soundsystem - Sound Of Silver

Length: 55 minutes

Key Tracks: All My Friends, Someone Great, New York I Love You But You’re Bringing Me Down

Lyrical Quality: 3.9 / 5

Melodic Quality: 4.1 / 5

Track Quality: 3.9 / 5

Album Quality: 4.2 / 5

Total: 16.1 / 20

Recommended Albums:

Hercules And Love Affair – Hercules And Love Affair

The Avalanches – Since I Left You

About Alex Pavitt
I work in the field of emotion. My tools are instinctual feelings and my laptop is the medium between my brain and the outside world. I deconstruct and rebuild. I imagine. I steal other people's lyrics because somtimes, my own words aren't enough. I spend all of my time somewhere inside my head. I worship Douglas Adams, and in the back of my mind I am always painfully aware that I will never be as good as him or, for that matter, anybody else.

5 Responses to Top 42 Albums Of The Decade (20 – 16)

  1. thefaldkazkid says:

    Veckatimest is 17?! What other madness is going to be above this delicious album?

    • Alex Pavitt says:

      please listen to sound of silver before making your claims that things are madness

      • thefaldkazkid says:

        Oh, I totally did. Totally didn’t like it as much as Veckatimest.

  2. Tom says:

    could you please explain your rating system.
    e.g – melodic quality, track quality, album quality.
    what exactly do these mean. I think i sort of get melodic. But i am not really understanding them.

    that is all.

    also, fuck you about veckatimest.
    hah.

    • Alex Pavitt says:

      ha. i expected that response about veckatimest. but still. 17. you know its right.
      ok, melodic quality means the sounds throughout the album, lyrical quality is the quality of the words (im a big fan of lyrics, i know you aint, so youll probly object to them making up 1/4 of my overall mark), track quality means does the album have a lot of good individual tracks and album quality is does the album sound good as a whole piece.

Leave a Reply

