Top 42 Albums Of The Decade (25 – 21)


So, here begins the “business end” of my list of albums of the decade. I’ve actually devoted a decent amount of time to it, so I hope you appreciate it and take into account the things that I say.

I have replaced short reviews with more important details on the album, things such as recommended listening and key tracks. I ended up rating albums out of 20, using four categories each out of five marks. These ratings aren’t my actual view on the album’s quality, just its ranking in comparison to the other 24 albums on the list.

May I also stress that these are MY opinions, and I would like you to disagree with them, because this isn’t your list. And no, this isn’t a comprehensive list, because I haven’t listened to every album released this decade. This is just a personal list that I made to the best of my ability. So, my list of my favourite 25 albums of the decade.

And here… we… go.

~

25.

Bright Eyes – Lifted

Bright Eyes - Lifted

Length: 72 minutes

Key Tracks: False Advertising, Don’t Know When But A Day’s Gonna Come, Make War

Lyrical Quality: 3.2 / 5

Melodic Quality: 3.4 / 5

Track Quality: 3.1 / 5

Album Quality: 3.8 / 5

Total: 13.5 / 20

Recommended Albums:

Neutral Milk Hotel – In The Aeroplane Under The Sea

The Decembrists – The Hazards Of Love

~

24.

Broken Social Scene – You Forgot It In People

Broken Social Scene - You Forgot It In People

Length: 56 minutes

Key Tracks: Lover’s Spit, Anthems For A Seventeen Year Old Girl, KC Accidental

Lyrical Quality: 3.0 / 5

Melodic Quality: 3.9 / 5

Track Quality: 3.3 / 5

Album Quality: 3.7 / 5

Total: 13.9 / 20

Recommended Albums:

Sonic Youth – Daydream Nation

The Most Serene Republic – Population

~

23.

Grizzly Bear – Yellow House

Grizzly Bear - Yellow House

Length: 50 minutes

Key Tracks: Knife, Lullabye, On A Neck On A Spit

Lyrical Quality: 3.1 / 5

Melodic Quality: 4.0 / 5

Track Quality: 3.2 / 5

Album Quality: 3.7 / 5

Total: 14.0 / 20

Recommended Albums:

Department Of Eagles – In Ear Park

Yeasayer – All Hour Cymbals

~

22.

TV On The Radio – Dear Science

TV On The Radio - Dear Science

Length: 51 minutes

Key Tracks: Halfway Home, Dancing Choose, Golden Age

Lyrical Quality: 3.5 / 5

Melodic Quality: 3.6 / 5

Track Quality: 3.3 / 5

Album Quality: 4.0 / 5

Total: 14.4 / 20

Recommended Albums:

Wolf Parade – Apologies To The Queen Mary

Rain Machine – Rain Machine

~

21.

Mumford & Sons – Sigh No More

Mumford & Sons - Sigh No More

Length: 48 minutes

Key Tracks: Thistle & Weeds, Little Lion Man, The Cave

Lyrical Quality: 3.8 / 5

Melodic Quality: 3.5 / 5

Track Quality: 3.9 / 5

Album Quality: 3.6 / 5

Total: 14.8 / 20

Recommended Albums:

Fleet Foxes – Fleet Foxes

Alessi’s Ark – Notes From The Treehouse

About Alex Pavitt
I work in the field of emotion. My tools are instinctual feelings and my laptop is the medium between my brain and the outside world. I deconstruct and rebuild. I imagine. I steal other people's lyrics because somtimes, my own words aren't enough. I spend all of my time somewhere inside my head. I worship Douglas Adams, and in the back of my mind I am always painfully aware that I will never be as good as him or, for that matter, anybody else.

3 Responses to Top 42 Albums Of The Decade (25 – 21)

  1. Mel says:

    I think you got confused here….
    now, y’see…
    when you meant number 1…. you accidentally wrote 21….
    but thats okay…
    i know that you meant….

    • Alex Pavitt says:

      No, I think I was right the first time.
      You don’t even appreciate that I’m calling it the 2nd best album of the year, do you. Well, thats fair enough.
      I look forward to your list, which I assume you’re working on right now in a response to mine.

  2. bofGlilia says:

    Authentic words, some authentic words man. You made my day!

Leave a Reply

