Top 42 Albums Of The Decade (42 – 26)


Well I was originally going to just do a top 25, each of which would include short reviews. But after doing so I kept adding albums and in the end I had something approaching fifty, which I then cut down to forty. The I increased it to 42 because… well… if you don’t know why, that’s your business. I won’t do short reviews of those outside my top 25, but here are the fifteen albums that didn’t quite make it.

Let me just point out this is my personal list, based on my personal feelings towards the albums and are completely unrelated to their influence, their general reception, and their following and preceding albums by the artist. So it’s more the 42 individual albums I enjoy the most that happened to be released since Januray 1 2000.

42. Frightened Rabbit – The Midnight Organ Fight

41. My Brightest Diamond – Bring Me The Workhorse

40. Thom Yorke – The Eraser

39. Muse – Origin Of Symmetry

38. The White Stripes – Icky Thump

37. Kings Of Leon – Because Of The Times

36. Radiohead – Amnesiac

35. UNKLE – War Stories

34. Wolf Parade – Apologies To The Queen Mary

33. Damien Rice – O

32. Bloc Party – Silent Alarm

31. Modest Mouse – Good News For People Who Love Bad News

30. Broken Social Scene – Broken Social Scene

29. Fleet Foxes – Fleet Foxes

28. TV On The Radio – Return To Cookie Mountain

27. Andrew Bird – Mysterious Production Of Eggs

26. Elbow – Leaders Of The Free World

Oh… I’m sorry. I didn’t realise you weren’t interested in the albums placed 42 to 26 in my top albums of the decade list. I do apologise. Here, have some audience participation.

I’m compiling a record of “train music”, made up of songs that are either very good for long journeys, (specifically trains, as that is how I perform all my long journeys), or have the word “train” somewhere in their title/lyrics. I am welcome to suggestions for songs such as these that could be included on the album, which I plan on making a double CD, 15 tracks each. Next time I blog I will post the tracklist of said album, in the hope that you to will take it with you as a playlist for long journeys.

‘Til then, enjoy insulting my list

About Alex Pavitt
I work in the field of emotion. My tools are instinctual feelings and my laptop is the medium between my brain and the outside world. I deconstruct and rebuild. I imagine. I steal other people's lyrics because somtimes, my own words aren't enough. I spend all of my time somewhere inside my head. I worship Douglas Adams, and in the back of my mind I am always painfully aware that I will never be as good as him or, for that matter, anybody else.

Leave a Reply

