You must be a masochist to love a modern leper on his last legs


So I guess I should explain. I was going to give a detailed analysis of the purpose and importance of the opening track of a record. I then planned on giving my personal 20 favourite opening tracks. I did the latter, and not the former.

Also, only one per artist. Man it was difficult picking between Airbag and 15 Step.

Enjoy.

20. Kasabian – Club Foot

19. The Verve – Bittersweet Symphony

18. R.E.M. – Radio Free Europe

17. Damien Rice – Delicate

16. Frightened Rabbit – The Modern Leper

15. The Beatles – Help!

14. Jeff Buckley – Mojo Pin

13. Wilco – I Am Trying To Break Your Heart

12. Blur – Beetlebum

11. The National – Secret Meeting

10. TV On The Radio – The Wrong Way

9. Modest Mouse – 3rd Planet

8. Bon Iver – Flume

7. Grizzly Bear – Southern Point

6. Bright Eyes – At The Bottom Of Everything

5. Portishead – Mysterons

4. Radiohead – Airbag

3. Arcade Fire – Tunnels

2. Pink Floyd – Shine On You Crazy Diamond (pts. 1-5)

1. The Beta Band – Dry The Rain

I was gonna include links, but eh. You can find them on youtube, you’re computer literate.

But look at that top 10. Look at it! Ahh if it didn’t go against the whole “opening track” ethic I would totally make a compilation album from that.

About Alex Pavitt
I work in the field of emotion. My tools are instinctual feelings and my laptop is the medium between my brain and the outside world. I deconstruct and rebuild. I imagine. I steal other people's lyrics because somtimes, my own words aren't enough. I spend all of my time somewhere inside my head. I worship Douglas Adams, and in the back of my mind I am always painfully aware that I will never be as good as him or, for that matter, anybody else.

One Response to You must be a masochist to love a modern leper on his last legs

  1. theaudiofiles says:

    Please be sure to check out

    http://theaudiofiles.wordpress.com/2009/12/19/opening-tracks/

Leave a Reply

