“Pitchfork Top 10” Project


After reading “Pichfork’s Top 200 Albums of the 2000’s”, which concluded today, I thought it would be an interesting idea to review their top 10 albums, and post my reviews here. The problem is that I am greatly attached to some of the top 10 list, whilst I haven’t even heard others. In fact I’ve properly listened to only 6, three of which I’d call 5-star albums.

In an attempt to make a more impartial judgement, and also to avoid writing album reviews, since I have never really enjoyed that limited way of discussing music, I decided on what I thought would be a more unique idea. I am going to listen to the top 10, in reverse order, and as I listen to them I will write down a stream-of-consciousness evaluation of the music. The writing will likely be short phrases, summing up ideas i like, moods I feel and what suceeds and fails. I will try my best to treat every album as equals, as if I were listening to them for the very first time. This will probably be difficult given that a couple of the albums I have listened to around 100 times each. But I’m gonna try my best.

After writing up my ten alternative-reviews, I will edit them only so far as to correct spelling mistakes, delete any superfluous phrases and add a summary of my views at the bottom. The plan is for me to post number 10 to 6 tomorrow, and the top 5 on Sunday. I hope I have time for this, but if not, it’ll spill over into Monday. I may post my results in two sets of five, or as a big top 10 list, and I hope to have it posted by Monday, but we’ll have to see.

Here is the top 10 list in case you haven’t seen it yet:

10. The Avalances – Since I Left You
9. Panda Bear – Person Pitch
8. Sigur Ros – Agaetis Byrjun
7. The Strokes – Is This It?
6. Modest Mouse – The Moon and Antarctica
5. Jay-Z – The Blueprint
4. Wilco – Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
3. Daft Punk – Discovery
2. Arcade Fire – Funeral
1. Radiohead – Kid A

This feels like an interesting project, and I hope that it exposes me to some new styles that I probably wouldn’t have listened to otherwise. Anyway, wish me luck!

About Alex Pavitt
I work in the field of emotion. My tools are instinctual feelings and my laptop is the medium between my brain and the outside world. I deconstruct and rebuild. I imagine. I steal other people's lyrics because somtimes, my own words aren't enough. I spend all of my time somewhere inside my head. I worship Douglas Adams, and in the back of my mind I am always painfully aware that I will never be as good as him or, for that matter, anybody else.

Leave a Reply

