Gonna make some plans, wait and see


I came up with an interesting idea after watching High Fidelity recently, and that is to make my own musical autobiography. Whereas in the film the record collection is organised into when it most had an effect on its owner, I have instead listed all the albums that have most highlighted my musical life in a form of large-scale diary, witht he date corresponding to the time the album most had an impact on my musical listening choice. These aren’t the best albums, just the ones that shaped my the way I enjoy (or otherwise) my records. Comparing the start to the finish and mapping the route through between the two is a wild nostalgic trip for me, I can recall my initial and evolving views on each of these albums simply by noting where they came in my journey of music.

This is an ongoing project of course, new albums will be appearing at the end as time progresses. This just seemed like such a cool idea to me I felt I should share it. Also I haven’t blogged for a week and after going at a rate of 1000 words a day earlier I felt like maybe I should prove to myself I can still be produtive. And I can! I hope you all will be able to soak up the memories of a few years of your own musical discovery in the same way that I have done this morning. It’s fun.

Apr-04 Coldplay – A Rush Of Blood To The Head
May-04
Jun-04
Jul-04
Aug-04 Keane – Hopes And Fears
Sep-04 Coldplay – Parachutes
Oct-04
Nov-04
Dec-04 REM – In Time
Jan-05 Snow Patrol – Final Straw
Feb-05
Mar-05
Apr-05
May-05
Jun-05 Muse – Absolution
Jul-05
Aug-05 Coldplay – X & Y
Sep-05 Foo Fighters – One By One
Oct-05 Muse – Origin Of Symmetry
Nov-05
Dec-05 Radiohead – OK Computer
Jan-06 Radiohead – The Bends
Muse – Showbiz
The White Stripes – Elephant
Feb-06 Pink Floyd – Wish You Were Here
Pink Floyd – Dark Side Of The Moon
Mar-06 Blur – The Best Of Blur
Apr-06 Radiohead – Kid A
Damien Rice – O
Snow Patrol – Eyes Open
May-06 Radiohead – Hail To The Thief
Radiohead – Amnesiac
Pink Floyd – The Wall
Jun-06 Pink Floyd – Animals
Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Show Your Bones
Jul-06 Thom Yorke – The Eraser
Muse – Black Holes & Revelations
Aug-06 Arcade Fire – Funeral
Sep-06 Kasabian – Kasabian
Kasabian – Empire
Oct-06
Nov-06 Bloc Party – Silent Alarm
Silversun Pickups – Carnavas
Dec-06 Gnarls Barkley – St Elsewhere
Jan-07 Foo Fighters – The Colour And The Shape
Feb-07
Mar-07 Arcade Fire – Neon Bible
Apr-07 Pulp – Different Class
May-07
Jun-07 The White Stripes – Icky Thump
Jul-07 Foo Fighters – Echoes, Silence, Patience, Grace
Aug-07 Jeff Buckley – Grace
Sep-07
Oct-07 Radiohead – In Rainbows
Nov-07 Kings Of Leon – Because Of The Times
UNKLE – War Stories
Dec-07
Jan-08 Portishead – Dummy
Feb-08 Portishead – Portishead
Mar-08
Apr-08 Portishead – Third
REM – Accelerate
Gnarls Barkley – The Odd Couple
May-08 Kings Of Leon – Aha Shake Heartbreak
Jun-08
Jul-08
Aug-08 The National – Boxer
REM – Document
Manic Street Preachers – This Is My Truth Tell Me Yours
Sep-08 The Beta Band – The Three EPs
Oct-08 The National – Alligator
Coldplay – Viva La Vida
Nov-08 The Verve – Urban Hymns
Dec-08 The Smiths – The Sound Of The Smiths
The Strokes – Room On Fire
Jan-09 The National – Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers
Laura Marling – Alas, I Cannot Swim
Feb-09
Mar-09 TV On The Radio – Desperate Youth, Bloodthirsty Babes
LCD Soundsystem – Sound Of Silver
Apr-09 Bon Iver – For Emma, Forever Ago
Fleet Foxes – Fleet Foxes
May-09 Bright Eyes – I’m Wide Awake It’s Morning
TV On The Radio – Return To Cookie Mountain
Jun-09
Jul-09 Grizzly Bear – Veckatimest
Andrew Bird – The Mysterious Production Of Eggs
Islands – Return To The Sea
Aug-09 Wilco – Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
My Morning Jacket – Z
TV On The Radio – Dear Science
About Alex Pavitt
I work in the field of emotion. My tools are instinctual feelings and my laptop is the medium between my brain and the outside world. I deconstruct and rebuild. I imagine. I steal other people's lyrics because somtimes, my own words aren't enough. I spend all of my time somewhere inside my head. I worship Douglas Adams, and in the back of my mind I am always painfully aware that I will never be as good as him or, for that matter, anybody else.

3 Responses to Gonna make some plans, wait and see

  1. Ignus Iudicium says:

    This is a list indeed. How do you remember all this stuff!?

    • Alex Pavitt says:

      a combo of memory and the “date added” section of my media player

      • Ignus Iudicium says:

        That’s impressive. 😀 Consider me impressed!

Leave a Reply

